We re-discovered an old box of vinyl records this weekend.

The selection used to be owned (and I’m sure thoroughly enjoyed) by J’s mom & dad. And let me tell you, it doesn’t disappoint. What’s more, I think it’s only half of the total vinyl awesomeness that once was. The picks are a lot of 70s and 80s, and includes bands and artists I know well and others I have no clue of. Thank you, YouTube.

What I’ve learned about this time in music is, well, a few things. For one, drugs are amazing and awful. The clothes, the hair, the band names,and the album and song titles. Second, duos and trios rule. Or maybe these decades just had an affection for the ampersand. Hall & Oates. Chad & Jeremy. Crosby, Stills and Nash. Ike & Tina.  Loggins & Messina. Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass.

And lastly, and this is a no-brainer: Mustaches rule. Peruse (and enjoy) the awesome evidence of ‘staches: