It took us a couple of years to get into gear, but we finally saved up enough greenbacks to buy sod.

And let me tell you, it’s worth every penny!!!! Love it! We spent a lot of time prepping the yard — and by we, I mean, mostly J’Pace (love him!). Trees were cut, trees were trimmed, rows of dead bushes in the front yard were pulled, a zillion leaves were raked up, dirt was moved around … ugh, I’m getting tired just typing all the prep work that was done.

But the day came when 9 pallets of sod were delivered to our house. (Note to anyone buying sod, double check your measurements and how many of pallets of sod you really need. We were a pallet over, but we gave to our neighbor to keep the green going on our street!) I couldn’t believe how much something so simple, like grass, can give a house such a boost. What’s more, I can’t believe how something so domestic could make me so happy. I’m sure once I see my water bill go up, and my Saturdays consumed with mowing lawns I’ll go back to cursing homeownership. But for now, I’m happy 🙂

I admit, I was nervous about getting grass amid such drought conditions here in SoFla. But damn! Grass is good! I have a rain barrel on the side of the casa, so I’m hoping the afternoon summer thunderstorms will keep it full, and I’ll be able to not be such a water drainer.

I just have some pics of the front yard, but I’ll get some of the back yard soon!

