I’ve been in a writing standstill. Eh, handstill.

But I’ve figured out why. I’ve been in a music rut. I haven’t changed out my (OK, I might date myself now …) cd case in months, and (OK, I’m not totally against technology …) I haven’t updated my iPod in weeks (OK, I kind of hate iTunes). Finally, though, I’m starting to break out and perk up. JP got me the new Beastie Boys album last week, Hot Sauce Committee Part Two. I know people say they hate it when an artist doesn’t try new stuff and stretch their musical talents. But how awesome is it when they stick to what they kick ass at and just kick ass!?

Also starting to catch up on my music podcasts. My go-to is the 538 Dance Department podcast, because I love the Dutch accent of the host and because I love house music. Anywho, caught a set by Eric Prydz that surprised me in a good way. I love when I’m not paying attention and then catch the late thought train, ‘I didn’t think I was much of a fan, but I really like this.’

And so I’ll leave you with a new tune you can groove to … this one is from Santigold featuring the awesome Karen O, Go:

