I can’t believe how much money I’ve spent on cds. Yes, compact discs.

So futuristic. So round. So awesome. I love everything about a new cd. The cover art. The art of getting the label sticker off to open the case. Would there be lyrics included? That’s always a bonus. Who would the artist thank? What producers stepped in and on what tracks and where did they use a sample? I have spent so many hours (and dollars!) in music stores — Blockbuster music, Uncle Sam’s, FYE. I would search for cds with B-sides; cds with live versions; cds imported from other countries (my fave!); cds with bonus tracks; cds with remixes. New cds, used cds. I loved them all.

Nobody can say I didn’t do my part to help keep the cd industry alive throughout the 90s.

But then along came the devil, eh, I mean Steve Jobs, er, I mean, Apple, oh yeah, and the iPod. And so it seems, the death of cd sales.

Will scrolling through iTunes be the only way the youngest generation knows how to ‘shop’ for music? Ugh. Someone bring me a cassette tape player, stat, I need to make a mix tape that conveys how I feel.

