If you know me, you know I don’t eat anything I swim with.

So when J said he wanted to make paella, I said “Mmmhmm …” and carried on.  Then, one minute I’m at Target, the next minute I’m in Captain Frank’s picking out scallops and other misc. sea creatures.  Actually, I was just standing there while J picked out which seafood he wanted to eat the most.

Scallops, shrimp, squid, clams.

All in my kitchen.  The only thing that made me kind of excited about this cooking adventure was that I had a cutting board specifically for fish, and I could now finally use it!

Anywho, I actually helped prep some of the slimy sea stuff.  Have you ever touched raw squid!?  The texture reminded me of those jelly slap hands you’d throw at people.  (I’m not sure if that’s an accurate description, but …) In the end, the dish was great!  J did an awesome job of perusing the World Wide Web for recipes, and after finding a couple we liked, we kind of pieced the steps we liked together. He even set aside some for me with just land-loving animals in it.

I was trying to document all the steps leading up to this dish, and then I forgot to take a picture of the final masterpiece!

