This weekend I ventured out of my normal five-mile radius shell.  Seriously, I actually got my ass on I-95.  I made my way south past a handful of exits off the highway, to hit up Delray Beach.  In high school, I would venture to downtown Delray on Thursdays for Jazz on the Ave to hang out with friends.  It was a little seedy, but artsy and pretty safe if you stayed on Atlantic Ave, the main road.  But, fast forward to 2010 Atlantic Ave and I spy a Rolls Royce, collagen-injected lips and guys-too-old-to-be-hanging-out-with-those-girls-who-look-16.  I guess those seeds got brushed to the side.  It wasn’t all plastic, though … I mean, I was there.  Oh wait, my Havaianas (fresh from the motherland, Brasil! My favorite Brasilian rocks!!!) are made of plastic. Does that count?!

People aside, I was in Delray for food; the annual Tastemakers of Delray Beach event was on.  A restaurant ‘crawl’ with 24 local places giving up food, wine, beer & cocktails.  It was a really good time, and it’s events like this that remind me how much I love to eat and drink.  I may not be the most adventurous eater, but … well, the old addage goes, if you can’t be an athlete, at least be an athletic supporter! Cevich, cab savs, guiness, ciders, butternut squash soups, sushi, chardonnays … I’m getting full just thinking about all the food and drinks!!!

Our first stop was Ziree, a sushi & Thai restaurant:

Next we made our way to Linda Bean’s Perfect Maine, and the Shipyard Summer Ale they were offering up was a great beer for the sticky, humid night! And, according to all my company that night, the lobster roll was a-may-zing!

Grabbing a Guiness and shepherds pie at Paddy McGee’s Irish Pub:

Fresh crepes from Crepes by the Sea:

