I know it’s 2010.  Even though we haven’t made it to a George Jetson lifestyle with talking diaries and flying cars, we’re sooo beyond Atari and 3 lb.-cell phones it’s not even funny.  I’m amazed at technology.  What’s more, I’m amazed with how it  has taken over people’s lives.  I mean, we can’t be expected to find our way to someone’s house on our own – can we?! Has a 10-year-old ever seen a paper map?  I can’t believe we don’t have something to remind us to breathe.  Oh, I hope I didn’t just jinx us.  We just can’t seem to stay away from the conveniences of technology.

The chatting and texting while driving.

The Facebook updates.

The Tweets.

My friend O and I were talking about this, and she mentioned how people don’t even know how to date without technology.  She said nobody gets ASKED on a date anymore – they get texted.  No starring at the phone for hours, then finally dialing only to hang up – repeat five more times.  On the sixth attempt, you hear a ring and a … “Hello?”  Hang up.  Nope, no more.  Instead, getting asked on a date is rendered to: R U free Mon?

What’s worse, the questions via Facebook.

Hey, can you watch my cats next week?

No, not unless you call and ask me.

Aaaarrgh!  For now, I’m just sticking by my pay-as-you-go phone for as long as possible.

Do you still use the phone?

