Have you noticed the Asian sensation on the news?

Ann Curry

Juju Chang

Melissa Lee

Tricia Takanawa

Maybe you haven’t, but I have.  Even though I don’t have an “I’m Asian” soapbox (OK, maybe I do, but it’s super flimsy!), it is nice to see Asian women not being portrayed as a trench girl, dragon lady or some other sexualized and/or  femme fatale figure.  Little Asian girls growing up today can aspire to be something outside the doctor-massage therapist-engineer-ho box.  Isn’t that nice!?

Growing up, the only things Asian I can remember are: Connie Chung, moo goo gai pan, my 4 cousins and a Cabbage Patch Kid doll that went to China.  She wasn’t Chinese, she just went there – her t-shirt said so.

Now, though, there’s something for everyone.  It’s not just blonde Barbie out there anymore.  There’s a teacher Barbie, Italian Barbie, doctor Barbie, Amazonia Barbie (it’s for real, I looked it up) … The Barbie I knew drove a red Corvette and had a pink toilet.  For real.

