Today, the wonderful Mangopunch sent us a fabulous Valentine’s Day card, and I dare say one-of-a-kind.  As in, hand crafted.  As in art.  Ladies and gents, the lady is talented.  She always sends the most thoughtful things, and regardless of it’s size or material, you know it’s priceless and unique.

Earlier in the day, I starred in awe as my Cubicle Neighbor showed me the cuteness she crafted with her two hands (I don’t want to give it away here as they were gifts, but they were really cute).

These folks do art.  They create something with their two hands.  They go to the store and choose colors and materials, and patterns and supplies.  They take a thought and make it something you can see and touch.  And ultimately, they’ve made a smile.  Behold, the power of the arts – in any form.

I say this as we’re about to enter yet another Hallmark Holiday weekend – Valentine’s Day.  Let the flowers, the candy, the balloons, the teddy bears all roll in.  Watch the frenzy and the sweat drip in the greeting card aisle as one tries to pick the perfect card.  Are we just friends?  Do I really love this person?  Maybe I just like them a lot?  Should I go funny or serious or sappy? There’s nothing wrong with these things, let me say, but it makes me remember just how much I hate Hallmark and how much I love a good handwritten note, or personal mix tape (fine, a playlist will do), or self-made cupcakes.

I’m so jealous of those with talents I lack – pasting, sewing, sticking, threading, cutting.  But, I’m very happy to be on the other end – the receiving end.  If you can’t be an athlete, be an athletic supporter.  That’s my motto.

