There was a time when liquor and I, well, were broken up.  There were a few short-term breaks here and there, but we managed to stay friendly throughout the college years.  Then, one day I decided to just cut out liquor drinks completely.  On occasion – a friend’s birthday, a hen’s party, Saturday night – I would force down half a shot.  But otherwise, no more Captain and Cokes.  Adios Red Bull & vodka.  Sayonara chocloate martini. 

And, like lightening strikes, I suddenly craved a margarita!  On the rocks.  With salt.  If you’re buying 😉  Was it the salt?  The lime?  Or…the tequila!?  I never really cared for tequila before – and I still don’t think I do.  In any event, I don’t know where the craving came from, but the combination certainly is heavenly today.

So, I’m about 55 minutes early typing this, but here’s to National Tequila Day – July 24.  Cheers to the Margarita; the Tequila Sunrise; the Long Island Ice Tea; the Tequila Mockingbird…. 

Tequila!

