Buh-bye.  That’s exactly what one town is saying to bottled water.  Residents of Bundanoon, New South Wales, voted to ban the sale of bottled water in their town. 

It was the second blow to Australia’s beverage industry in one day: Hours earlier, the New South Wales state premier banned all state departments and agencies from buying bottled water, calling it a waste of money and natural resources.

“We’re hoping it will act as a catalyst to people’s memories to remember the days when we did not have bottled water,” he said. “What is ‘Evian‘ spelled backwards? ‘Naive.'”

I hate buying water.  I am a sucker for a bottled beverage, true that.  Why do they have to put the little cooler of tasty beverages right by the check out lane!?  But, water?  Even if I want water, I won’t buy it – instead I’ll opt to purchase a tea or soda.  

In any event, a neat victory Down Under.  And I hope it sends a message to the bottled water industry – and hopefully to other parts of the world!  Read the entire article here.

