I often find it interesting, and often amusing, as to what the media decides will be the “BIG” news for the day/week/month/year.  Like, this week, it’s the “swine” flu, or H1N1, which, I’m sure, all actual swines would rather us use.  Ok, so this H1N1 is big – or is it?  I mean, poor ol’ regular influenza…killing almost 36,000 people a year – where’s that headline??  Where’s influenza’s spotlight!?  Right now, there are two suspected cases of swine flu in Palm Beach County, and that shish is getting front page headlines!  

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m all for any opportunity to re-iterate the importance of hand washing and covering your mouth when you cough/sneeze.  (If I see you walk out of the bathroom without washing your hands, you better believe I’m keeping tabs on what you touch from that point on!)  In any event, do we have to use words like “pandemic” for this swine flu??  Well, I’m not one to say, I guess….

