In an effort to unclog some of my blogger’s block, I’ve been thinking of a million and one things to post.  Should I post about that weird fruit I saw at the market?  Or, the pad thai I devoured at Thai Jo?  Maybe I’ll write about that article I read about 271 million pounds of pharmaceuticals (legally) released into our country’s waters?  (About the latter, it’s no joke.  Read about it here.)  Anywho, no matter what the topic, I seem to get about three sentences deep and then, POOF! my train of thought is derailed.  I’m like a stray dog looking for food, but instead of searching through garbage cans, I’m searching through…everything! looking for inspiration.    

But, I think I know why.  If Oprah were here, I’d tell her it’s an “Aha moment” or some other overused phrase she touts and billions pick up on.  In any event, I’ve realized that I’m lacking focus.  In Australia, I had blog focus.  Road trip across the USA, I still had blog focus.  Unemployed and now employed, I seem to have lost my blog way.  A bit.  Maybe it’s good.  Maybe I needed to get lost only to find my way back.  I certainly can’t break up with my blog, can I?  We’ve been together for two years now…what kind of Dear John letter would that sound like?  I mean, I like writing.  I want to write.  I like thinking up catchy post titles (like this) and blabbing about something I found totally absurd (this) or funny (this) and not having to worry that you don’t really care – because I can’t see you reading this, or how quickly you click off of this page/post. 

So my not-so-steady platform from which I shout (er..type) my two cents will become a little sturdier.  I hope, anyway.  As a semi-new resident of downtown West Palm Beach (going on five months now I think), I’ll try to focus on my experiences here.  The people.  The attitude.  The eats.  The beach.  The fun.  The not-so-fun.  The strange.  The funny.  The disheartening.  Of course, all of this will still be wrapped up in my usual sense of humor, accented with my paltry attempts at photography and sprinkled with a touch of sarcasm and odes to great music. 

Do you dig, baby?  For blogger’s sake I hope so 🙂

