One of the things I miss about living on the Gold Coast of Australia is – beaches aside – listening to triple j.  On tv, they did a morning show on Saturdays (or Sundays?  I can’t remember) a la MTV – videos, musician interviews, tour news….  And on the radio, triple j played everything from Kanye West to Tegan and Sara in one segment.  I still check out their website to see what’s on the decks there, and it’s so nice not to see the usual American pop fodder.  Don’t get me wrong, Aussies definitely love them some American tunes, but they’re also keen on the likes of other great, maybe-maybe-not-so-well-known artists like The Grates, La Roux, Lady Sovereign, Xavier Rudd, Vampire Weekend….

Australia itself has tons of great music & artists, and I’m not really sure why it’s so hard for them to break into the US scene.  (Are we that snobby?!)  Anywho, maybe times are a changin’ – I heard that some Aussies made a stop down in Ft. Laudy recently – Missy Higgins (huge in AU), Lenka (with that catchy, kind of syrupy pop song The Show) & Justin Nozuka (though not an Aussie, I remember his name popping up while we were there).  And, I’ve been hearing The Veronicas and their Untouched song around a lot lately.  Although I’m not rushing out to buy their album or anything, I like listening to them because it makes me think of Australia 🙂

