With our emails, texts and blogs, we have practically kicked the “mailperson” position back into the dinosaur age.  Why spend money on postage and envelopes just to say “Hey, how are you?”  In fact, why even waste time to writing that all out?  “Hey how RU” seems to suffice.  This is like the biggest middle finger to all the English teachers in the world.

Who needs commas?  Why bother with question marks?  (Well, I do.)  Who cares about apostrophes?

Apparently, someone does.  Today is National Punctuation Day (seriously, I’m not making this up!), which is the inspriation for this post. 

A celebration of the lowly comma, correctly used quotes, and other proper uses of periods, semicolons, and the ever-mysterious ellipsis.”

What’s more, it acts as a nice segue and reason for me to post a video of Vampire Weekend‘s song Oxford Comma.  (Based on this one song, I went and bought the entire CD.  (Yes, the actual CD.)  The fact that they can drop Louis Vuitton, Lil’ Jon, the F bomb and Cape Cod in one album, well, that deserves at least a listen, right?  This CD makes me want to put on skinny jeans and a t-shirt of a band I’m too young to actually know about, and then beg my friend’s older brother to buy me a case of PBR.  But, in a good way.  ) 

