A bit morbid, sure, but it’s true – we’re all going to die someday.  And, I don’t think that lying in a wood box stuffed with embalming fluid is how I want to make my everlasting impression on the world.  But, get cremated and then what?  Sit on someone’s shelf?  Blow with the wind and into some bird’s trachea?  (Do birds have trachea?)  Well, I think I’ve found my answer – Eternal Reefs.  The Sundance channel showed a blurb on this company that creates a memorial (read: concrete reef ball – with your ashes mixed in) that is then used to build artificial reefs underwater.  Thus, helping rehabilitate our ocean’s ecosystem.  Pretty neat, I thought.

I had heard of artificial reefs while in Australia; they created one on the Gold Coast – Narrowneck.  The reef was created to heed off beach erosion and improve the surf break (hey, it’s Australia, surfing is just as important as beach erosion).  I’m not sure if it worked or not, but…A for effort. 

Anywho, it’s always nice to know we have some options out there.

