I have all these “We’re not in Kansas anymore, Toto” moments in which I remember that I’m in another country. Or, for that matter, any place I’m not usually.
For instance, I have made Indian food (butter chicken) and bangers and mash (sausages, onions, mash) for dinner recently. Both meals were totally void of my culinary knowledge before moving to Australia – let alone even trying to make them at home.

In any event, it’s always the little things that remind me I’m on this adventure. Another example, I met a girl last week and after I said hello, her reply was, “You’re a genuine Yank!” Now, I wasn’t sure if that was a compliment or what, but she said it with a smile, so…. Also, in her favor, she was probably one of the first people who didn’t immediately ask, “So, what part of Canada are you from?” or “Are you Canadian?” I have nothing against the Canadians, but I don’t sound like one do I, eh?! It’s all good, Aussies. I can barely tell your accent apart from the Kiwis 😉

Anywho, gotta love Australia. Really, I still do. I miss America, sure. But, I really like Australia, Toto.

