I’ve been posting a lot of pics and You Tube videos because, well, I’ve been lazy to write much more than a paragraph or two. Today, though, some inward looking.

There’s no way to fully explain in writing how this Australian experience has changed us. It’s changed us both individually and as a dynamic duo – in a positive way. I’m not saying that our experience is like performing open-heart surgery or climbing Mt. Everest, but I think we’re doing something kind of amazing. I mean, I am a girl who never ate at a Subway until my freshman year of college, never lived outside of Florida (although I have covered 3 cities pretty well) – and now, I’m living in Queensland, Australia.

For one thing, this experience is teaching Us to try to be less indecisive – or at least, quicker to make decisions. If you have hung out with either of us for more than 30 minutes, you know how tough decision-making is for us. Do you want to go out to eat? Sure. Where? Chinese sounds good. How about Mexican? Mexican sounds good, too. Is there someplace that serves lo main and yellow rice? Our inability to decide on things is probably why we’ve been together for 10+ years and still aren’t married! I mean, that’s like, one of the biggest decisions a person has to make, right?! (Yeah, we’re working on making that happen sometime in the near future…we promise, Hazel! Haha!)

Being in Australia has been a serious test of our decision-making skills as well as our communication skills. At the grocery, we have to work together to decipher food products like Paw Paw fruit (it’s similar to a papaya), or Butter Chicken Sauce (it’s a popular Indian dish, think Tandori chicken with a hint of tomato). On the weekends, we have to decide whether we want to do some bushwalking or rent bodyboards and give that a go. (I guess we can’t really complain that life is tooo hard if those are our choices, right!? Haha!) And, we discuss our long-term plans and have to make decisions about where we want to be in a year, 2 years…and how will we get there?

What’s more, the distance helps us evaluate the relationships we have with other people. Our family, our friends. Cliche, but true – absense makes the heart grow fonder. I realize how important it is to establish good ties with those you love. It’s not quantity of contact, rather quality of contact.

Sometimes I feel like we’re throwing up words and sentences. But, in a good purging of the feelings way. Not in that wow-that’s-so-disguisting-but-at-least-I-made-it-to-the-bathroom way.

Well, enough of that. I’m going to eat some tacos.

