Dessert anyone?

This weekend, we got a heads up on the quintessential Australian/NZ dessert – PAVLOVA. Supposedly, the dessert is named after Russian ballerina, Anna Pavlova, who toured Australia and NZ a couple of times back in the 1920s. Pavlova – the dessert – is to be light and airy…like a ballerina!
Anywho, we picked up some pavlova last night and gave it a go. It’s a meringue cake, so the basics are egg whites and sugar, and the result is a crispy shell and marshmellow-y inside. Australians typically dress their pavlova with whip cream and or fruit such as kiwi, any berries, passion fruit, etc….
And, what was our opinion of pavlova? JP thought it was kind of weird with a funny aftertaste, and I thought the pavlova was similar to angel cake; a dessert that’s to be used as a blank canvas, then you dress it up as you like. I’ll definitely give it another shot. Seeing as how we bought an instant kind of pavlova mix, I’m thinking that next time we should actually make the dessert from scratch. If you want to try and make it yourself, there’s a recipe here.

Of course, this leads me to a new TIM (things I miss) list for October:

1. Family & friends.

2. My Wusthof Santoku knife. (The food I cook may not always be good, but I know I look good cuttin’ up everything! Haha!)

3. My Kitchen Aid mixer.

4. Our Jungle Book plastic cup. (Not because I really like the cup, but it’s been part of our cupboard repertoire since college and I miss seeing it.)

5. Track #4 from Justin Timberlake’s FutureSex/LoveSounds album. (For some reason, it didn’t copy into my iTunes.)

