We have our application in to the Australian Department of Immigration and Citizenship, and now we’re just waiting to hear back from them.  Will we get approved?  Do we need to provide more documents?  Can they read my handwriting?  It’s kind of nervewracking….just waiting.  Our current visa is about to expire soon, so I’m having visions of getting deported and having to float back to America on an orange blow-up dingy.  Not good.  That would be one loooonnngg boat ride! 

I know these things take time, but I just want to check and make sure we’re on the right track.  And then double check.  Triple check.  If I don’t receive any word from them by Thursday or Friday, I’m going to call and check.  Of course, we won’t know if our visa approval is final until further down the road (ie, approx 4-8 weeks for applicants from “low risk” countries), but they will notify us that the application is in process.  And then they will provide us with a “Bridging Visa” – a formality to keep us legal while we wait to be approved for our visa.  

Hoping to stay in Oz a little longer,

JPCK

