In lieu of spreading the gospel of Madonna, I thought I’d switch it up to one of J’s faves – Reggae.  Not reggaeton, and definitely not Sean Paul.  Rather, more along the reggae/soul/roots/dub lines of: Bob Marley (of course), Bunny Wailer, Damian Marley, Groundation, Michael Franti & Spearhead, Easy Star All-Stars (who have an awesome reggae “interpretation” of Pink Floyd’s The Dark Side of the Moon – appropriately named Dub Side of the Moon– as well as a cover of Radiohead’s OK Computer album titled Radiodread). 

I mean, who doesn’t like a good drum line, the sound of a steel pan playing and uplifting lyrics?  So, to combine J’s love of reggae and my love of music festivals, we’re going to check out the Australian reggae/soul/roots/dub scene and hit up the Island Time Festival 2007 – a 3-day smorgasboard of music, dreadlocks, fire twirlers and drum circles in mid-October.  I can’t wait to see what the Australian scene is like.  

To get into the spirit early, we hit up Cafe Uno in Coolangatta last Sunday for their “Irie Sunday Sessions.”  It made me miss our stereo system – loud music and heavy bass are addicting.  (Visions of Simon’s, glow sticks and candy ravers are coming to mind..haha..surely the reason I will probably be semi-deaf at 60!)  Anywho, there were 2-3 guys mixing up some different styles of reggae/old school via vinyl.  We also tried the Cafe’s beer of the month, described as “think Corona, but 4 times better!”  Pretty spot on description, too…if only I could remember the name of it….I think it was from El Salvador!? 

Anywho, another reason I’m excited about this festival is that it’s being held on North Stradbroke Island, or “Straddie” as the locals say.  We’re staying in the Point Lookout area, and at this time of the year, it’s supposed to be the preee-mo spot for some whale watching!  Free Willy!  Reggae, whales, first-class beaches – should be fun!!  We’ll keep you posted, mon!

