It’s our last night in Jacksonville.  Justin asked me what I’ll miss most about this place, and I couldn’t think of an answer.  I still can’t actually.  Justin wasn’t bringing any ideas to the table, either.  Of course, there were good times to be had here.  Most of them, well, aren’t blog audience-friendly – but no doubt, there have been plenty of good times fo sho’.  Also, I’ll miss watching a city grow.  The changes I’ve seen in the last four years here are many, and I can’t wait to hear about this place in another 5-10 years.  On the other hand, I will not miss visions of Confederate flags or fake balls hanging off trucks with 34″ wheels.  I will not miss grits.  I will not miss the presence of a BBQ restaurant at every corner block.  And, while the magnonlia tree-lined streets are aesthetically pleasing, my sinuses will definitely not mourn their absense.  In short, this Bible-belt city is just not the place for me right now. 

Yes, we have lusted for Jax at times, yet we have never truly loved it.  Justin and I are ready to leave, but we’ll always have a special place in our heart for Jacksonville.   

(*cue The Sound of Music)

So long, farewell, auf wiedersehen good bye

I’m glad to go, I cannot tell a lie

I fleet, I float, I fleetly flee I fly    

Auf wiedersehen, Jacksonville!  Next stop, South Florida!!

