So, some girl manages to text some obscure word used in a Disney movie, and she walks away with $25K?  Are you kidding me?  (Seriously, check out the story here.)  I decided to check out the last few texts I sent, and they were:

“sw3et! when? oh-i drank epcot today”

“Whfre u at?! call me”

“cool”

Obviously, I am far from “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.”  Damn, that girl is good.  Then again, she sends 8,000+ texts a month.  That’s like 266 texts a day.  Who has time to do ANYTHING 266 times a day?  I guess 13-year-olds do.  However, when I was 13, I was buying cassette tapes so I could record classic sing-along songs like, Proclaimers “I’m gonna be (500 miles)”; Dr. Dre’s “Nothin’ but a G thang”; and 4 Non Blonde’s “What’s up?”

I try hard to avoid the When I was a kid…. comparisons, but it’s hard.  It’s plain ol’ jealousy.  I didn’t have a cell phone.  I didn’t own shoes that ejected wheels like an airplane so that I could fly by unsuspecting shoppers at Target and scare the shit out of them.  There weren’t iPods or Zunes to help me fall asleep in English class (yes, I managed to do that one sans electronics – Ms. Olivero’s hum-drum voice talking about Edith Wharton novels seemed to do the trick). 

Oy, I can’t imagine what the next generation is going to have to play with.      

