In spite of the fact that we’re flying around the world in 20 days, I’m not too stressed.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m stressed – but not too stressed.  Things seem to be falling into place for us for the most part.  Our 2-year contract with Verizon happened to be up in April.  So, no worries about battling to get out of that or have to deal with paying that bill while in Oz.  We’re also walking away from our apartment with our wallets unscathed.  In fact, we’re actually getting our deposit back, which we weren’t expecting.  Moreover, Justin’s company is experiencing minor internal turbulance, so now’s the perfect time for him to flee.  Our going-away package is coming together nicely.  Furthermore, my newlywed friends Eliz + Damon are making the move out of Jacksonville – in just a couple of weeks after we leave, they’re heading to Seattle.  

Let me explain this one.  Eliz and I met in 9th grade and since that day, we have lived within 10 minutes of each other.  Yes, we have concocted a crazy friendship that has lasted through high school (awww, DB), college (Go Gators!) and beyond – three stages of life, three different cities, and the same two people.  Maybe not so uncommon, but nonetheless a feat.  So, in a nutshell, I felt sad leaving Jacksonville and Eliz.  But now that she’s got her bus pass out of Jacksonville too, I feel like it’s the right time to move on.  

You know, my motto for 2007 is “New year, New you” and it seems to be fitting for many so far.  Justin + I to Oz.  Eliz + Damon to Seattle, oh yeah, and married.  My friend Kelly S. and her beau, Jon, are headed from the East Coast of Florida to the West.  My NYC girl, Orly, made a big move this year as well – in with her S.O. (significant other).  Oh yeah, and I can’t forget about my other Wesss Side (of FL, that is) friends Adam + Amy, married in February.  All of this and we’re only in May. 

This Blog’s song: David Bowie’s “Changes”

Ch-ch-ch-changes / Don’t want to be a richer man

Ch-ch-ch-changes / Just gonna have to be a different man

